Internet Edition

Issue No. 9, July 2002

Appointments and Promotions


Assoc Prof Kelvin Foong Weng Chiong was appointed Vice Dean with effect from 1 January 2002 to 31 December 2003.

Assoc Prof Lim Lum Peng was appointed as Chairperson of the Committee for Periodontology with effect from 1 November 2001 to 31 December 2003. The other members of the committee are Assoc Prof Grace Ong, Dr Fidelia Tay, Dr Chung Kong Mun, Dr Loh Fun Chee and Dr Loh Poey Ling.

Prof Loh Hong Sai was appointed as a member of the Outstanding University Researcher 2001 Award (ORA 2001) Committee.

A/Prof Teo Choo Soo was appointed as Director, Office of Alumni & Community Relations with effect from 1 January 2002.

Assoc Prof Adrian Yap was appointed by the Board of Graduate Studies to be a representative from the Faculty of Dentistry to the Management Committee of the Graduate Programme in Bioengineering from 9 Feb 2002 to 30 June 2003.

The following staff were appointed as Fire Wardens and Assistant Fire Wardens for a period of 2 years with effect from 1 January 2002:

Fire Wardens Assistant Fire Wardens
Mdm Goh Kim Ing NO Ng Gek Lang
Mr Francis Ang Ms Han Tok Lin
Mr Ho Weng Siak Ms Catherine Tan
Mr Lim Eng Chuan Mr Chan Swee Heng

Assoc Prof Teo Choo Soo was appointed Chairman of the Committee on Smoking Control by Ministry of Health for a term of two years with effect from 16 February 2002.

As NUH Dental Centre is a key organisation in the Dental Industry, Assoc Prof Keng Siong Beng was nominated as a representative to sit on the Dental Industry Skills Standards Committee, PSB (Singapore). The Committee will play a strategic role in the establishment of work performance standards in the Dental Industry.

Singapore Dental Association was given a grant from IDA to provide e-learning services to its professional members. Assoc Prof Keng Siong Beng was nominated as the Faculty representative for the Steering Committee for E-Learning to guide and determine the direction of Continual Professional Education for our fellow professionals in this new era of e-learning.

Mr Tan Keok San was nominated to represent the Faculty in the Integrated System Information System Working Committee, Computer Centre to review/stream-line the specifications for the above system.

Assoc Prof Grace Ong was re-appointed Head, Department of Preventive Dentistry from 1 July 2002 to 30 June 2004.

Assoc Prof Yeo Jinn Fei was appointed Head, Department of Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery from 1 July 2002 to 30 June 2004.


Heartiest congratulations to the following staff who were recently promoted:

Mrs Christine Tham to Management Support Officer Grade IV with retrospective effect from 1 January 2002.

Mdm Vadivale Navaammal to Operations Support Officer Grade III with retrospective effect from 1 January 2002.


The faculty would like to thank Dr Lo Geok Lam, Senior Lecturer in Paedodontics for her contribution and services to the Faculty and to wish her "Happy Retirement". She has completed 22 years of service to the Department of Preventive Dentistry at the end of May 2002.

Heartiest Congratulations to:

Dr Tang Kok Weng who was elected as the President of SDA council for 2002/2003.


Changes to all telephone and fax numbers

With effect from 1 April 2002, all existing fixed line Singapore telephone and fax numbers had to be prefixed with a "6".

We would therefore like to inform our overseas friends and colleagues to add a "6", e.g. "(65) - 6xxx-xxxx" when calling or sending faxes to the Faculty.

[ Contents | Previous Page ]

© Faculty of Dentistry
National University of Singapore