Internet Edition

Issue No. 10, December 2002

A Warm Welcome for New Staff

Miss Marie Jaime Hoh Kam assumed duty on 12 June 2002 as Laboratory Officer in the Histology Laboratory, Department of Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery.

Dr Soh Jen who assumed duty on 18 June 2002 as Assistant Professor in the Department of Preventive Dentistry.

Ms Karen Teo Chieh Yin assumed duty as Research Assistant in the Department of Restorative Dentistry on 1 July 2002.

Miss Lim Wei Ting who joined Dean's Office on 18 September 2002 as Administrative Officer

Dr Rashid Tahir who joined the Department of Preventive Dentistry as Assistant Professor on 23 September 2002

Miss Jacey Yeh who joined Dean's Office on 14 October 2002 as Administrative Officer

A Warm Welcome for New Research Students

To the following research students who were enrolled into the higher degrees by research programmes for the July 2002 intake:

From China
Dr Shi Zheng (MSc student in the Dean's Office) supervised by Dr Cao Tong. Dr Shi has been selected by the Board of Graduate Studies for a President's Graduate Fellowship for a period of one year with effect from 1 July 2002.

From India (Singapore PR)
Dr Sharan Lavina Theresa Aranha (MSc student in the Department of Preventive Dentistry) supervised by A/P Stephen Hsu.

From Myanmar
Dr Nyi Lay Maung (MSc student in the Department of Preventive Dentistry) supervised by A/P Stephen Hsu.

Dr Hla Myint Htoon (PhD student in the Department of Preventive Dentistry) supervised by A/P Lim Lum Peng.

From Malaysia
Dr Khoo Suan Phaik (PhD student in the Department of Restorative Dentistry) supervised by A/P Adrian Yap.

A Warm Welcome for New Residents (2002/2005)

Endodontics Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
Dr Richard Ang Ee Choon
Dr Kuah Hong Guan
Dr Lee Chee Wee
Dr Lai Juen Bin
Dr Ng Chee Hon
Dr Seah Tian Ee
Orthodontics Prosthodontics
Dr Mok Tong Bee
Dr Poon Kee Hoon
Dr Woo Mei Yee

Dr Mirza Rustum Baig
Dr Elvin Leong Woei Jian

Dr Khurram Abdullah
Dr Tan Wah Ching

Heartiest Congratulations to:

Heartiest Congratulations to Dr Pranee on her marriage to her Prince Charming on 21 September 2002 at Hatyai, Thailand. Singapore was well represented with 10 colleagues who went to celebrate this joyous occassion with her

Dr Patrick Tseng who was awarded the 1st Runner-Up of the EndoForum 2002 Endodontics Poster Competition organized by Dentsply Asia. The prize was donated to the Department of Restorative Dentistry

Heartiest congratulations to Mr Wu Zehe and wife on the birth of their first child (boy) on 27 July 2002.

Mr Joseph Baskharan was awarded the Long Service Medal on this year's (2002) National Day.

Prof Chew Chong Lin was awarded the Faculty of Dentistry RCS (Edinburgh) gold medal for his contributions to postgraduate dental education and to the College on 2 September 2002.

A/P Keng Siong Beng was elected President Elect of SEAADE (South East Asia Association for Dental Education for 2002-2004 at the recent at the recent September 18th general meeting in Hong Kong.

Prof Loh Hong Sai was re-elected as the President of the Guild of Dental Graduates and also as President, International Society for Laser Dentistry (ISLD) for 2002-2004.

Congratulations to Catherine Ong on the delivery of her little bundle of joy (a boy for those who must know) on 12 September 2002.

Dr Varawan Sae-Lim was reappointed Vice President, Chapter of Dental Surgeons, Academy of Medicine for 2002/2003, and also elected Hon Treasurer, SEAADE (2002-2004).

Congratulations to the following award winners at the Faculty Awards Day:

Performance Awards

  • Miss Han Tok Lin
  • Mrs Linda Lee
  • Mdm Vadivale Navammaal

Merit Awards

  • Miss Ng Chor Eng
  • Mrs Doris Wong
  • Miss Woo Fong Kuen

Upcoming Events

Faculty Social and Welfare committee is organizing a year end party on 27 December 2002 and the annual party on 17 January 2003

[ Contents | Previous Page | Next Page ]

© Faculty of Dentistry
National University of Singapore